Humango
Adaptive running, cycling and triathlon plans built around weekly availability, with an AI coach named Hugo and a coach mode for teams.
Ranked #16 of 19 with an overall score of 2.6/5 (7 of 7 dimensions scored). Visit Humango. Entry last reviewed 2026-10-13.
Running, Cycling, Triathlon, Strength AI level: Conversational AI coach Adaptive plan + chat human coach in the loop USD 16.99/mo · USD 155.99/yr pushes workouts to 0 devices
Humango generates plans for running, cycling, triathlon and duathlon from the athlete's goals and weekly availability and re-plans when availability, health metrics or feedback change. Hugo, a ChatGPT-based coach, answers questions and can schedule rest or change intensity on request. The app connects to Garmin, Strava, Zwift, Wahoo, Peloton, Apple Health, Apple Watch, Suunto and Polar; the vendor site does not state which devices receive planned workouts. Pricing is a USD subscription in Essential and Premium tiers with a 14-day trial; a coach mode lets human coaches manage athletes on the platform.
Conversational AI coach. An LLM-based coach the athlete talks to in free text; it can explain, negotiate and change the plan, usually on top of a model-driven or rule-based planner. source
What the coach does
Thirteen coaching capabilities as stated by the vendor. ● full, ◐ partial, ○ not offered, ? unverified. Each links to the page that states it.
| Plan | ||
|---|---|---|
| Builds a periodized planBuilds a periodized plan to a goal and date? | ● | Plan generated from goal, date, availability and current fitness, with phases. source |
| Precise workout prescriptionHow precise is each session? | ? | unverified |
| Race preparationRace-specific work, taper, pacing? | ◐ | Race blocks, taper and a pacing or race-day plan for the target event. source |
| Adapt | ||
| Adapts to lifeRe-plans around life? | ● | Missed or moved sessions and availability changes re-flow the plan automatically. source |
| Adapts to fatigueReacts to fatigue and readiness? | ● | Load changes from HRV, sleep, resting HR or subjective feel without the athlete asking. source |
| Handles injury and illnessHandles sick or hurt athletes? | ◐ | Pause and return-to-training progression, not just skip. source |
| Relationship | ||
| Post-workout feedbackExplains what a completed session meant? | ◐ | Per-session analysis referencing the athlete's data and the plan's intent. source |
| ConversationCan the athlete talk to the coach? | ● | Free-text chat that can answer questions and change the plan. source |
| Check-ins and accountabilityDoes it come to you? | ? | unverified |
| Human coach in the loopIs a human in the loop? | ◐ | A human coach reviews or messages, included or as an add-on. source |
| Beyond endurance | ||
| Strength and mobilityStrength in the plan? | ◐ | Prescribed strength or mobility sessions scheduled alongside endurance work. source |
| Nutrition and fuelingFueling guidance? | ? | unverified |
| Multisport planningOne plan across sports? | ● | Balances load across sports in a single plan. source |
Works with
Partners the vendor states support for, by kind. A partner not listed is unverified, not unsupported.
Watches
| Partner | Direction | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Garmin (watches / Connect) | reads activities Vendor states devices feed data in; workout export not stated. | source checked 2026-10-13 |
| Apple Watch | reads activities | source checked 2026-10-13 |
| Suunto | reads activities | source checked 2026-10-13 |
| Polar | reads activities | source checked 2026-10-13 |
Bike computers
| Partner | Direction | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Wahoo ELEMNT | reads activities Listed as 'Wahoo'. | source checked 2026-10-13 |
Indoor trainer apps
| Partner | Direction | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Zwift | reads activities | source checked 2026-10-13 |
Training platforms
| Partner | Direction | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Strava | reads activities | source checked 2026-10-13 |
Wellness and health data
| Partner | Direction | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Apple Health | reads activities | source checked 2026-10-13 |
Facts
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Web source |
|---|---|
| Languages | EN source |
| Company | Humango, Inc. source |
| Country | US source |
| Launched | unverified |
Pricing
| Pricing model | Subscription source |
|---|---|
| Monthly price | USD 16.99 source |
| Annual price | USD 155.99 source |
| Free tier | Free trial source |
| Trial | 14 days source |
- Essential USD 16.99/month or 155.99/year: One single-sport goal at a time, real-time plan adaptation, Hugo support, wearable connections. source
- Premium USD 28.99/month or 264.99/year: Essential plus multiple single- or multi-sport goals, 1-Day and 2-Day Recalibration Tests, Race Planner pacing plan. source
Scores
1–5 per dimension by the published rubric. Each score links to its evidence. Blank means no public evidence yet.
| Dimension | Score | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Plan quality | 3 | Recalibration tests update thresholds and zones, plans have phase adaptations and race pacing; a Slowtwitch user notes the proprietary science is not released, so no published model. evidence checked 2026-10-13 |
| Adaptation | 3 | Independent reviewer confirms easy re-planning after missed workouts, illness or weeks off; vendor claims health-metric input (sleep, fatigue) but no independent source confirms physiological signals drive changes. evidence checked 2026-10-13 |
| Workout feedback | 2 | Independent reviewer describes workouts and easy re-planning but no per-session debrief; vendor pages promise 'timely feedback' and 'training insights' without describing interval targets or a post-session summary. evidence checked 2026-10-13 |
| Coaching relationship | 2 | Hugo is a ChatGPT-based chat that can schedule rest or change intensity on request (vendor press release), but one forum user calls it 'laughably bad' and buggy and another describes it as a support-style Q&A tool. evidence checked 2026-10-13 |
| Transparency | 2 | Users report the reasoning behind workouts is not disclosed and contrast it with Athletica's full disclosure; blogs describe the approach only in general terms. evidence checked 2026-10-13 |
| Value for money | 3 | USD 155.99/year (Essential) to 264.99/year (Premium); forum views conflict, one calling it well priced and another more expensive than Athletica for the same service. evidence checked 2026-10-13 |
| Athlete sentiment | 3 | Mixed: Slowtwitch poster and a blog review praise customisation and ease of re-planning; Athletica forum users call the interface clunky and Hugo unreliable and several moved to Athletica. evidence checked 2026-10-13 |
What athletes say
Independent threads and reviews consulted, titles only; no paraphrase.
- Humango unveils the enhanced Hugo with ChatGPT integration (press release, Dec 2023) (other, checked 2026-10-13)
- Wahoo app partners (lists Humango) (other, checked 2026-10-13)
- Zwift forum: Humango AI (no direct Zwift integration at time of post) (forum, checked 2026-10-13)
- Humango on the App Store (4.5, 21 ratings) (appstore, checked 2026-10-13)
- ROUVY and Humango (ROUVY support: WOD import, activity export) (other, checked 2026-10-13)
- Humango review (fueledbylolz) (review, checked 2026-10-13)
Common questions
What kind of AI coach is Humango?
Humango is classified as "Conversational AI coach": An LLM-based coach the athlete talks to in free text; it can explain, negotiate and change the plan, usually on top of a model-driven or rule-based planner.
Does Humango include a human coach?
Partly. A human coach reviews or messages, included or as an add-on.
Does Humango adapt the plan to fatigue and sleep?
Yes: Load changes from HRV, sleep, resting HR or subjective feel without the athlete asking.
What does Humango cost?
USD 16.99/mo · USD 155.99/yr, with a 14-day trial.
Which sports does Humango coach?
Running, Cycling, Triathlon, Strength.
Similar tools
AI Endurance LLM coach · enduco LLM coach · Athletica Model · Transition LLM coach · Garmin Coach Rules
Vendor sources consulted
- Humango for athletes checked 2026-10-13
- Humango app features checked 2026-10-13
- Humango FAQs (integrations, tiers, Hugo) checked 2026-10-13